Author Topic: PasswordMaker 1.7 beta8 for Firefox/Mozilla/Netscape/Flock/SeaMonkey  (Read 13087 times)

Offline Eric H. Jung

  • grimholtz
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3352
Hi,

PasswordMaker 1.7 beta8 for Firefox/Mozilla/Netscape/Flock/SeaMonkey is now available here. Don't worry if you're wondering what become of beta7--there was no beta7 version released. I mistakenly labeled this release "8" instead of "7".   ;D

So 1.7 beta1 was released on July 07, 2007. Almost 3 months later, 1.7 has not been finalized. Let's hope this is the one. I'm waiting for feedback from YOU as well as final translations from the translators at http://www.babelzilla.org

Regards,
Eric

Offline tanstaafl

  • God Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1363
Re: PasswordMaker 1.7 beta8 for Firefox/Mozilla/Netscape/Flock/SeaMonkey
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2007, 04:31:52 PM »
Installed - like the single button... now to test... will log in/out of a bunch of different accounts and report back asap...

Thanks!!!

Offline tanstaafl

  • God Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1363
Re: PasswordMaker 1.7 beta8 for Firefox/Mozilla/Netscape/Flock/SeaMonkey
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2007, 05:26:59 PM »
Ok, now for the bug... there's definitely some weirdness going on here...

I started with a fresh RDF file, and first created 3 new accounts (test1, test2, test3) (had to 'Copy' the defaults, per the previous bug), and gave them all the same URL pattern (https://login.yahoo.com/*), but with different usernames (also test1, test2, test3).

When I activate coolkey (actually, I use the keyboard - Alt-`) on the yahoo groups site, the first thing I notice in the Account selection list is they are not in the expected order - instead of the order they show in the PWM accounts list - test1,test2,test3 - they are in the order 2,1,3. Not a huge deal, but possibly related to the problem, which is...

The down/up arrows for selecting the account don't work properly:

1. If there are 3 accounts, it will simply toggle between the 1st (test2) and 3rd (test3) account... I have to click on the middle one (test1) with my mouse if I want to select it.

2. If there are 4 or more (I added a 4th, named 'test4', with a username of 'test4'), the displayed order is even weirder - 2,4,1,3 - when I hit the down arrow (the top one - test2 in this case - is selected initially), it skips the second one (test4) and moves down to the 3rd (test1)...

3. If I hit the down again, it does move to the 4th (test3).

4. If I then hit the up arrow, again, it skips the one just above it and jumps to the 2nd one...

I hope this was clear enough for you to be able to reproduce it...

Thanks!

Offline Miquel 'Fire' Burns

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1152
  • Programmer
Re: PasswordMaker 1.7 beta8 for Firefox/Mozilla/Netscape/Flock/SeaMonkey
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2007, 05:36:00 PM »
The order is where it's at in the RDF file (which isn't the same as the UI) [edit] Here! No wonder I remember this, I reported it!

I know about that bug actually. It been around for a while. I think it's because of Eric doing some custom keyboard handling. [edit] Here! And you confirmed it too!
« Last Edit: September 21, 2007, 05:38:54 PM by miquelfire »
"I'm not drunk, just sleep deprived."

Offline Eric H. Jung

  • grimholtz
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3352
Re: PasswordMaker 1.7 beta8 for Firefox/Mozilla/Netscape/Flock/SeaMonkey
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2007, 05:44:44 PM »
So is this a bug with 1.7 beta8 or not? Sounds like it's not.

Offline tanstaafl

  • God Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1363
Re: PasswordMaker 1.7 beta8 for Firefox/Mozilla/Netscape/Flock/SeaMonkey
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2007, 06:01:03 PM »
Yes - it is a CURRENT bug - everything in my report was on a clean RDF file using beta8...

Offline tanstaafl

  • God Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1363
Re: PasswordMaker 1.7 beta8 for Firefox/Mozilla/Netscape/Flock/SeaMonkey
« Reply #6 on: September 21, 2007, 06:10:13 PM »
The order is where it's at in the RDF file (which isn't the same as the UI) [edit] Here! No wonder I remember this, I reported it!
Weird - because I would have thought they'd at least be in the order they were created - but I created them in the 1,2,3 order, and they displayed in that order - but in the account selection dialog, they were OUT of order (as reported).

Quote
I know about that bug actually. It been around for a while. I think it's because of Eric doing some custom keyboard handling. [edit] Here! And you confirmed it too!
Added to the FR so it won't get lost...

Offline tanstaafl

  • God Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1363
Re: PasswordMaker 1.7 beta8 for Firefox/Mozilla/Netscape/Flock/SeaMonkey
« Reply #7 on: September 21, 2007, 06:14:40 PM »
But it would be nice to get it fixed if its an easy fix - it is very irritating...

Offline Eric H. Jung

  • grimholtz
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3352
Re: PasswordMaker 1.7 beta8 for Firefox/Mozilla/Netscape/Flock/SeaMonkey
« Reply #8 on: September 21, 2007, 06:47:44 PM »
Yes - it is a CURRENT bug - everything in my report was on a clean RDF file using beta8...

What I mean is: did you see this before 1.7 beta8? If yes, I'd like to wait to fix it so we can get 1.7 out the door. If no, then it's not a bug that was recently created due to code changes for 1.7.

Offline tanstaafl

  • God Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1363
Re: PasswordMaker 1.7 beta8 for Firefox/Mozilla/Netscape/Flock/SeaMonkey
« Reply #9 on: September 21, 2007, 06:52:12 PM »
Oh - apparently, yes, this is an old/existing bug...

So, by all means, release 1.7, and then lets squash this bugger! I'll be very quick to test any betas you release after 1.7 is out...

Offline Eric H. Jung

  • grimholtz
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3352
Re: PasswordMaker 1.7 beta8 for Firefox/Mozilla/Netscape/Flock/SeaMonkey
« Reply #10 on: September 21, 2007, 07:09:23 PM »
Oh - apparently, yes, this is an old/existing bug...

So, by all means, release 1.7, and then lets squash this bugger! I'll be very quick to test any betas you release after 1.7 is out...

OK. Why is it so annoying all of sudden? Apparently it's been a bug for a long time, but only now it's bothering you?

Offline tanstaafl

  • God Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1363
Re: PasswordMaker 1.7 beta8 for Firefox/Mozilla/Netscape/Flock/SeaMonkey
« Reply #11 on: September 21, 2007, 07:44:12 PM »
No, its always been annoying - I just got used to it...

The 'all of a sudden' is from my looking at PWM from the standpoint of a new user while rewriting the docs for the wiki...

Offline Eric H. Jung

  • grimholtz
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3352
Re: PasswordMaker 1.7 beta8 for Firefox/Mozilla/Netscape/Flock/SeaMonkey
« Reply #12 on: September 26, 2007, 04:39:33 PM »
Was this thread just split?

Offline tanstaafl

  • God Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1363
Re: PasswordMaker 1.7 beta8 for Firefox/Mozilla/Netscape/Flock/SeaMonkey
« Reply #13 on: September 26, 2007, 04:41:36 PM »
I split off my bug report for not being able to create new accounts...

Did I goof?

Offline Eric H. Jung

  • grimholtz
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3352
Re: PasswordMaker 1.7 beta8 for Firefox/Mozilla/Netscape/Flock/SeaMonkey
« Reply #14 on: September 26, 2007, 05:33:43 PM »
I split off my bug report for not being able to create new accounts...

Did I goof?

No, it's good you did that. I just needed a link in this thread to the new thread. For some reason I didn't get a notification about the other thread (i think?)

PasswordMaker Forums

Re: PasswordMaker 1.7 beta8 for Firefox/Mozilla/Netscape/Flock/SeaMonkey
« Reply #14 on: September 26, 2007, 05:33:43 PM »