Author Topic: Getting passwords on other computers  (Read 13526 times)

Rob

Getting passwords on other computers
« on: February 20, 2006, 02:54:45 PM »
Hi,
I am new to Passwordmaker.  Just added it to FF 1.5.0.1 after a great review in InternetWeek.

However, I am a little confused as to how I will be able to sign in to websites that PWM has generated a password for when I am not at "my" computer.  I have read most of the manual and FAQ.

The online version, to me, appears to only generate passwords when I need to create one, but does not allow me to use the ones PWM has already created on "my" computer, to sign in.

I have read about the import/export of the .rdf file, but that only seems to apply if you have the FF extension installed on every computer I use.

Please help, if you can, with some of these clarifications.

Thanks

Offline Eric H. Jung

• grimholtz
  • Administrator
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2006, 05:55:02 PM »
Hi Rob,

The online version, to me, appears to only generate passwords when I need to create one, but does not allow me to use the ones PWM has already created on "my" computer, to sign in.
No, this isn't accurate. The online edition -- and all editions -- generate the exact same passwords as the Firefox edition. You only have to make sure the settings you choose are consistent between editions. Give it a try!

Let us know if you have other questions,
Eric

« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2006, 06:46:11 PM »
No, this isn't accurate. The online edition -- and all editions -- generate the exact same passwords as the Firefox edition. You only have to make sure the settings you choose are consistent between editions. Give it a try!
Hi,
I gave the online version and the Javascript version tries on my old home computer with IE, and lo and behold, it worked!  As you said, I just needed to make sure I had all the settings the same.