Author Topic: Redesign of the Command-Line Edition  (Read 13422 times)

Offline Miquel 'Fire' Burns

• Administrator
  • Programmer
Redesign of the Command-Line Edition
« on: September 23, 2007, 02:26:06 AM »
Since it seems anyone who uses this edition and asks about appears to not use the Firefox Edition, I'm wondering if we should try to make an effort to make this edition more standalone, like the online edition is currently? If so, how do we do it?
"I'm not drunk, just sleep deprived."

Offline tanstaafl

Re: Redesign of the Command-Line Edition
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2007, 02:40:37 AM »
Being that I'm not a programmer, my answer will be simplistic and general in nature, but...

It should use a well-defined (established? industry standard?) API, so that any other program could hook into it - feed it a password, and return the generated password.

Beyond that, I don't know...

• Administrator
  • Programmer
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2007, 03:01:23 AM »
Were you even using computers during the DOS days? (Or did you start at Windows 95, or 3.1 with it set to autostart anyway?)

Offline tanstaafl

« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2007, 03:18:53 AM »
Oh, yeah - I did some fun stuff with batch files...

I think DOS was at about 3.1 when I first got into the game... well, whatever it was at in 1985...

Offline Eric H. Jung

• grimholtz
  • Administrator
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2007, 12:32:02 AM »
Tanstaafl- I think what Miquel is getting at is that the command-line edition already supports an "API" through the use of standard out and standard in. These are about as well-established of a standard "api" as you could hope for. There are certainly other standards which we could wrap around the core, such as COM, but I don't see the effort worth the limited payback.

Miquel- when you say "try to make an effort to make this edition more standalone", can you elaborate? In what ways do you see it as non-standalone right now?

• Administrator
  • Programmer