anything

Author Topic: Window focus with account settings open  (Read 11202 times)

Offline Miquel 'Fire' Burns

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1154
  • Programmer
Window focus with account settings open
« on: January 18, 2006, 02:58:52 AM »
Steps to reproduce this bug.

Open PasswordMaker through status bar icon (I suppose other ways are the same)
Goto the settings of some account (Default or others, don't matter, as long as that window opens up)
Switch back to Firefox, and click the status bar icon, seems to do nothing (I assume it's trying to give focus to the main window but fails)

Window focus works if the accounts settings is not open BTW.
"I'm not drunk, just sleep deprived."

Offline tanstaafl

  • God Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1363
Window focus with account settings open
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2006, 12:04:14 PM »
Hi miguel,

I cannot reproduce this - it works fine for me...

I open PWM by clicking on the status bar icon (not the toolbar icon).

I open an Account to its Settings window (where I can change the Account Settings for that account if desired).

I click on the main FireFox window behind the open PWM Account Settings windows (there are 2 - the main PWM window, and the Account Settings window for the Account I opened), and focus changes to the main FFox window.

I click on the PWM statusbar icon, and focue changes back to the Account Settings window both PWM windows come back to the top of FireFox Main window).

Works fine for me... maybe a conflict with another extension?

I'm using FFox 1.5, Windows XP Pro sp2, PWM 1.4.4b

Offline major4579

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
Window focus with account settings open
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2006, 02:03:45 PM »
Works correctly on my system too.

-John

PMW 1.4.4b and Moz 1.7.12 on Windows 2000
-John

PMW 1.7.1 and FireFox 1.5.0.12 on Windows 2000/SP4

Offline Miquel 'Fire' Burns

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1154
  • Programmer
Window focus with account settings open
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2006, 04:03:06 PM »
Maybe it's a bug with Firefox 1.0.x? Or it was fixed in 1.4.4b?
"I'm not drunk, just sleep deprived."

Offline tanstaafl

  • God Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1363
Window focus with account settings open
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2006, 04:07:00 PM »
Could be - what versions are you running?

Offline Miquel 'Fire' Burns

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1154
  • Programmer
Window focus with account settings open
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2006, 04:39:04 PM »
Firefox 1.0.7
PasswordMaker 1.4.3

Tested on two different machines now. Does the beta says it's beta in the about screen now BTW?
"I'm not drunk, just sleep deprived."

Offline tanstaafl

  • God Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1363
Window focus with account settings open
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2006, 06:27:29 PM »
Quote
Tested on two different machines now. Does the beta says it's beta in the about screen now BTW?
Yep...

Offline Eric H. Jung

  • grimholtz
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3353
Window focus with account settings open
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2006, 07:14:03 PM »
I also cannot reproduce. Miquel, can you try with Firefox 1.5? You can have 1.0.7 and 1.5 installed on the same PC--just use different directories. They do not affect each other.

Offline Miquel 'Fire' Burns

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1154
  • Programmer
Window focus with account settings open
« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2006, 03:21:47 AM »
Same with 1.5 (blank profile)

You may have fixed it in 1.4.4beta1 though. Note, because I don't like restarting Firefox, I had no way to try in 1.5 last night at home.
"I'm not drunk, just sleep deprived."

Offline ajw

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
Window focus with account settings open
« Reply #9 on: January 27, 2006, 01:18:55 AM »
This is the same bug as I reported in CTL~ doesn't work if account window open

From Firefox:

CTL~ to open PasswordMaker

CTL-T to display About dialog

click on Firefox so PasswordMaker dialogs are hidden

CTL~ does not display PasswordMaker (and About dialog) again
(nor does clicking on PasswordMaker icon on Firefox's status bar)


I just installed 1.4.4 beta 1 and still see the same behavior.

I suspect any modal dialog will show the same thing; About, account settings, group settings, etc.

Windows XP SP2, Firefox 1.5, PasswordMaker 1.4.3 or 1.4.4 beta 1

- Al -

Offline tanstaafl

  • God Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1363
Window focus with account settings open
« Reply #10 on: January 27, 2006, 03:16:33 AM »
Not the same bug - but very similar...

I CAN confirm this one (the one ajw just referred to)... but ONLY with respect to the 'About' window. Trying the same thing with the Account Settings window open does NOT exhibit the problem.

Offline ajw

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
Window focus with account settings open
« Reply #11 on: January 27, 2006, 10:35:11 AM »
Quote
Not the same bug - but very similar...

I CAN confirm this one (the one ajw just referred to)... but ONLY with respect to the 'About' window. Trying the same thing with the Account Settings window open does NOT exhibit the problem.
Quote
I CAN confirm this one (the one ajw just referred to)... but ONLY with respect to the 'About' window. Trying the same thing with the Account Settings window open does NOT exhibit the problem.
Oh, *that's* wierd!

How about other dialogs?

File|Export Settings  or  create new group ?


I've same behavior with all of them...

- Al -

Offline tanstaafl

  • God Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1363
Window focus with account settings open
« Reply #12 on: January 27, 2006, 02:40:10 PM »
Confirmed - same problem with all of them.

The only one that does NOT exhibit the problem is the 'Account Settings' dialog.

Are you saying that even the 'Account Settings' dialog exhibits this problem for you? Or can you confirm that it is the only one that DOESN'T?
« Last Edit: January 27, 2006, 02:41:09 PM by tanstaafl »

Offline tanstaafl

  • God Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1363
Window focus with account settings open
« Reply #13 on: January 27, 2006, 02:46:06 PM »
Sorry, I had to correct my first reply - I inadvertantly said that the 'About' dialog was the one working - it is not, it is the 'Account Settings' dialog that is the only one that is NOT exhibiting the problem.

Offline Eric H. Jung

  • grimholtz
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3353
Window focus with account settings open
« Reply #14 on: January 27, 2006, 04:57:47 PM »
OK. I'll try fixing it. Thanks for pointing out the problem.

PasswordMaker Forums

Window focus with account settings open
« Reply #14 on: January 27, 2006, 04:57:47 PM »