Author Topic: clipboard security risk  (Read 30517 times)

Offline landroni

clipboard security risk
« on: May 09, 2012, 07:26:51 PM »
Dear all
I am no expert but I was quite impressed by the solution proposed by PasswordMaker to strong passwords. As long as I choose a strong Master Password and I use PasswordMaker to generate very long and unique passwords which cannot reveal the MP. There is however one security detail that bugs me:
Depending on the PasswordMaker Edition used, one needs to *copy* and paste a given password for a specific account. This means that the password is being shared with a completely unsecured medium---the clipboard.

Depending on your OS and config, this password may be stored by the clipboard for a very long time (and sometimes without the express knowledge of the user). On Linux a selected and copied password will be kept in *two* different clipboards [1], and I for one am not very familiar with the internal mechanics of the clipboards. Is the information copied stored in memory or/and on disk? Can another process (say, a logger) recover/request the clipboard information? Can the info be recovered even after the clipboard has been cleared?

To get to the gist of my inquiry, is this security risk recognized and/or documented in the PasswordMaker docs? Do PasswordMaker devels recommend any specific, secure clipboard manager (on each of the supported OSs) that can be trusted with copied passwords? Should PasswordMaker devels provide a very simple but secure clipboard manager to be used in conjunction with any PasswordMaker edition? Please let me know.

[1] http://docs.xfce.org/extra/clipman/start

Offline Eric H. Jung

• grimholtz
  • Administrator
Re: clipboard security risk
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2012, 07:34:27 PM »
Hi,

PasswordMaker automatically clears the clipboard after X seconds. "X" is configurable. Remember, you don't have to copy the password to the clipboard at all. It is your choice.

Eric

Offline landroni