Author Topic: Entering the Master Password - Confirmation box?  (Read 25511 times)

ThorNM

  • Guest
Entering the Master Password - Confirmation box?
« on: July 19, 2005, 06:59:12 PM »
Hi,

This is a great program/extension, but one thing that frustrates me is, well, my inability to type properly. I'll often mistype my master password which is only asked for once.

Is a confirmation box for the master password possible? I've generated passwords before, only to go back to the site in question and realize that the master password was typed incorrectly in the first place.

Thanks! Any hints on avoiding this issue for now?

Offline Eric H. Jung

  • grimholtz
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3352
    • http://passwordmaker.org/
Entering the Master Password - Confirmation box?
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2005, 07:03:36 PM »
Hi ThorNM,
That's a great idea, and I will make it an option in the next release. For the moment, I suggest you save the master password to disk--then you don't have to worry about mistyping it.

FYI, an older release of PasswordMaker actually had the master password field display its value w/o asterisks.

Regards,
Eric

Nobody

  • Guest
Entering the Master Password - Confirmation box?
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2005, 03:07:58 PM »
It would be quite great to add an option in the global settings to disable the confirmation box. So I don't have to type it a second time when I'm sure i always type it the right way ;)

So you can enable it when you have to add a new account, so I you can be sure it's the right one and you can disable it, when you just want to have access to accounts and you don't mistype it.

Offline Romeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 561
    • http://www.wprus.com
Entering the Master Password - Confirmation box?
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2005, 03:24:22 PM »
Eric,

It looks like Nobody has good ideas :hehe: .   IMHO, this would be a good feature to have in the next release.

Romeo
It is impossible to create a fool-proof system, because fools are ingenious.

Offline Eric H. Jung

  • grimholtz
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3352
    • http://passwordmaker.org/
Entering the Master Password - Confirmation box?
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2005, 05:02:54 PM »
Sounds good. Tyrantmizar, can you add it to the feature request list? Something like "Option to enable/disable master password confirmation"

Thanks,
Eric

Offline Tyrantmizar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 307
    • http://tyrantmizar.blogsome.com/
Entering the Master Password - Confirmation box?
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2005, 09:47:56 PM »
Got it.
Tyrantmizar
- <a href="http://tyrantmizar.blogsome.com/">Check out my blog</a> (shameless plug :P)
- Lord of the Feature Requests / Enhancements Forum - BWAHAHAHAHA!!!!
- Lord of the other one, the [url=http://forums.passwordmaker.o

Guest

  • Guest
Entering the Master Password - Confirmation box?
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2005, 03:53:36 PM »
AHHHHHHHHHH!!!

Please give me the option to take out the confirmation box!  Very annoying!!

How can I load up a past release until this is fixed?

Guest

  • Guest
Entering the Master Password - Confirmation box?
« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2005, 03:56:09 PM »
ah, nevermind I found the past release.  Please make the confirmation an option though, forcing it is too much.

Offline Eric H. Jung

  • grimholtz
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3352
    • http://passwordmaker.org/
Entering the Master Password - Confirmation box?
« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2005, 05:34:10 PM »
There will be a global option to enable/disable this feature in a future release. It will be disabled by default.

Tyrantmizar, can you add it to the list if it's not already there? (I think it is)

AgentJ

  • Guest
Entering the Master Password - Confirmation box?
« Reply #9 on: September 04, 2005, 12:42:19 AM »
How about instead of making it an option, make it optional? E.g. allow empty values for the second password field, but if its not empty, check it matches.

I'll exlpain why it'll be useful for me.. Whenever I'm logging into existing accounts, I prefer not to have a confirmation.. (btw, I store my master in the memory). If my login works, then I know my master password was correct and can freely create new accounts on other sites without have to re-type the master password. However, if the first thing I do in a browsing session is create a new account, then I'd like the peace of mind of having the master password confirmed.

For the time being, if I ever want to skip the confirmation I just open up passwordmaker and type the password in there.

Offline Eric H. Jung

  • grimholtz
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3352
    • http://passwordmaker.org/
Entering the Master Password - Confirmation box?
« Reply #10 on: September 04, 2005, 01:11:47 AM »
That's an excellent idea. I will probably implement all three options:

1. Confirmation required
2. Check confirmation only if non-empty
3. No confirmation

AgentJ

  • Guest
Entering the Master Password - Confirmation box?
« Reply #11 on: September 04, 2005, 08:30:56 AM »
Sounds good :)

AgentJ

  • Guest
Entering the Master Password - Confirmation box?
« Reply #12 on: October 31, 2005, 07:09:04 AM »
Quote
That's an excellent idea. I will probably implement all three options:

1. Confirmation required
2. Check confirmation only if non-empty
3. No confirmation
is this still going to be implemented? I'd really like to see it..

Offline Eric H. Jung

  • grimholtz
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3352
    • http://passwordmaker.org/
Entering the Master Password - Confirmation box?
« Reply #13 on: October 31, 2005, 03:43:56 PM »
I implemented #1 and #3 (see checkbox on global settings tab), but unfortunately I'm not going to be able to do #2. Is that critical for you?
« Last Edit: October 31, 2005, 03:44:23 PM by Eric H. Jung »

AgentJ

  • Guest
Entering the Master Password - Confirmation box?
« Reply #14 on: November 01, 2005, 12:21:08 AM »
Quote
I implemented #1 and #3 (see checkbox on global settings tab), but unfortunately I'm not going to be able to do #2. Is that critical for you?
Till now I've been changing the source to add an extra check (masterPasswordTB2.value != "") before it confirms the passwords are equal.. its no big deal, i can just continue to do that whenever i upgrade :)

PasswordMaker Forums

Entering the Master Password - Confirmation box?
« Reply #14 on: November 01, 2005, 12:21:08 AM »