anything

Author Topic: How do I auto fill account name and *my* password  (Read 4414 times)

AceOnTheRiver

  • Guest
How do I auto fill account name and *my* password
« on: April 28, 2006, 01:13:43 PM »


Hello,

     I have various accounts and various passwords.

     I don't want password maker to generate password for me.

     But I want password maker (or some other tool) to fill
     my account name and my own password when even I visit
     a particular site's login page.

     How do I do that?!
     Or is there another tool available in internet for that?

Thanks,
-Kumar

Offline Miquel 'Fire' Burns

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1126
  • Programmer
    • http://www.miquelfire.com/
How do I auto fill account name and *my* password
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2006, 02:14:35 PM »
I think the Advanced Auto-popluate area would be a good place to look. Last I checked, you need the whole URL in the in the "When URL Contains" field (which is not good if the URL happens to contain some session ID of sorts)
"I'm not drunk, just sleep deprived."

Offline tanstaafl

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1353
How do I auto fill account name and *my* password
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2006, 04:36:48 PM »
Quote from: AceOnTheRiver
Hello,

     I have various accounts and various passwords.

     I don't want password maker to generate password for me.

     But I want password maker (or some other tool) to fill
     my account name and my own password when even I visit
     a particular site's login page.

     How do I do that?!
     Or is there another tool available in internet for that?

Thanks,
-Kumar
Hi Kumar,

There are actually two ways to do this...

This manual workaround was the old way, but now, with the advent of the 'Advanced Auto-populate' tab in the Advanced Settings, you can simply define the actual password field, and enter your password for the value.

Hope this helps,

Charles

Offline Eric H. Jung

  • grimholtz
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3343
    • http://passwordmaker.org/
How do I auto fill account name and *my* password
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2006, 10:08:33 PM »
Yes, PasswordMaker does this exactly. Just use the Advanced Auto-Populate tab as tanstaafl suggested. There you can define fields to be populated and their values (even your own password value).

Offline morguns

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 145
How do I auto fill account name and *my* password
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2006, 12:47:36 AM »
correct me if i'm wrong, but aren't these settings stored "in the clear"? this could be a significant security risk, especially if one stores the .rdf file at a remote location?

Offline Miquel 'Fire' Burns

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1126
  • Programmer
    • http://www.miquelfire.com/
How do I auto fill account name and *my* password
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2006, 12:58:25 AM »
If the field is marked as a password type, it will be encrypted. That's why the advance auto-populate is better than the suffix/prefix method.
"I'm not drunk, just sleep deprived."

Offline Eric H. Jung

  • grimholtz
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3343
    • http://passwordmaker.org/
How do I auto fill account name and *my* password
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2006, 01:48:38 AM »
Yep, what miquel said.

PasswordMaker Forums

How do I auto fill account name and *my* password
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2006, 01:48:38 AM »