anything

Author Topic: Setting up a new PWM password:  (Read 32793 times)

Offline quixin

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 538
Setting up a new PWM password:
« on: October 10, 2005, 06:26:33 PM »
I've noticed some people are having the same problem I had the first time I used PASSWORDMAKER.  You change your password to a new secure PASSWORDMAKER  password only to find out when you try to login with an auto populate feature that you get an invalid password.  This problem can occur by using either default settings w/ basic options or account specific settings w/ advanced options.  The problem begins at the page used to change your password.  I will explain with the instance it happened to me.

I use online banking with my credit union Vystar Credit Union.  The page that allows me to change my password uses the url 'vystarcu.org'.  While I was setting up a 'PASSWORDMAKER Account' I looked at the address bar and used that url: 'vystarcu.org'.

After completing the change password process I now had a new password for my credit union account.  I then proceeded to the Vystar home page to try out the nifty PASSWORDMAKER login feature.  I used the alt-` hotkey and got an invalid password.  I didn't freak out at first, I just decided to try the right click context menu option.  Again, I get an invalid password.

It took several days before I realized that the front login page for my bank used a slightly different URL, vystar.org.  The url doesn't change to 'vystarcu.org until you actually log in.

When I was attempting to get PASSWORDMAKER to log me in, it was not recognizing the vystar.org url as any account in my PASSWORDMAKER settings because my PASSWORDMAKER account was set to use 'vystarcu.org so it was using default settings which did not match my account specific settings there for generating the incorrect password.  Anytime PASSWORDMAKER does not find a 'PASSWORDMAKER Account', it uses defaults.

I simply changed the 'When URL contains' line in my accound settings to vystar.org and tada, it began to login for me perfectly.

To complicate things further, my credit union does have a second login page in a different location on their site that did use the 'vystarcu.org' url.  To be give PASSWORDMAKER the ability to auto-populate my username and password on either page I had to create 2 accounts in my PASSWORDMAKER advanced settings, one account with the 'When URL contains: box as vystar.org and one as 'vystarcu.org'

Hopefully this will help some users to avoid having the same problem.  There can be much anxiety when one thinks they are locked out of an account.



Offline JonM

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • Carp-Forums.com
Re: Setting up a new PWM password:
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2009, 01:47:48 PM »
'When URL contains'

Is this now where it says;

Quote
"Use the following text to calculate the generated password"

In Account-Specific Settings > URLs tab?
"Discussion is an exchange of knowledge; argument is an exchange of ignorance."
- Robert Quillen

Offline quixin

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 538
Re: Setting up a new PWM password:
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2009, 02:26:11 PM »
That is correct.  PWM has been updated since this posting.  In this post I mention creating multiple accounts when a site has different/multiple login URLs.  You no longer need to do that because of the URLs tab.  You can add as many URLs to that tab as you like.



Offline JonM

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • Carp-Forums.com
Re: Setting up a new PWM password:
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2009, 04:31:49 PM »
You can add as many URLs to that tab as you like.

Thanks, is this via adding 'patterns', or comma separated in the aforementioned field, or another?
"Discussion is an exchange of knowledge; argument is an exchange of ignorance."
- Robert Quillen

Offline quixin

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 538
Re: Setting up a new PWM password:
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2009, 04:57:55 PM »
You would add a new pattern.  For each differnt URL related to your PWM account, you can add as may individual patterns as you like.

From the example above.  I have one pattern set to "https://vystarcu.org/*" and one set for "https://vystar.org/*".



Offline JonM

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • Carp-Forums.com
Re: Setting up a new PWM password:
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2009, 05:18:47 PM »
Great stuff, foretold is forearmed!  :)
"Discussion is an exchange of knowledge; argument is an exchange of ignorance."
- Robert Quillen

PasswordMaker Forums

Re: Setting up a new PWM password:
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2009, 05:18:47 PM »

 

anything