anything

Author Topic: PWM will NOT read the RDF file  (Read 416 times)

Offline LkOnKbd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 417
  • "I am a deeply religious nonbeliever..."
PWM will NOT read the RDF file
« on: November 14, 2016, 06:21:10 PM »
Greetings from the GREAT Country of TEXAS,

My FireFox, v49.0.2, gave me some issues when returning to operations using "Hibernate."  The only way to get it to work was to 'reset' everything plus all 'addons' were removed and the Profile was recreated so had to look for my "RDF" file, found it and now that file, RDF, is NOT read by PWM.  Could it be an issue with the latest version, 1.7.8.1, or am I going to have to redo all of the sixty (60) odd passwords?  Hope not!
TIA, CU L8R,  >> LkOnKbd << "Lone Wanderer"
Dell OptiPlex 960 64bit 4G-RAM O/S Win7 PRO SP1; Firefox64 v49.x/w, PM v1.7.x + Other

Offline tanstaafl

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1361
Re: PWM will NOT read the RDF file
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2016, 06:45:57 PM »
It is definitely not an issue with the version.

Did you put it in the same place (iuf so - where?) and is it still named the same?

Offline Miquel 'Fire' Burns

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1141
  • Programmer
    • http://www.miquelfire.com/
Re: PWM will NOT read the RDF file
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2016, 01:00:15 AM »
You can also import it.
"I'm not drunk, just sleep deprived."

Offline LkOnKbd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 417
  • "I am a deeply religious nonbeliever..."
Re: PWM will NOT read the RDF file
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2016, 04:32:58 AM »
YES!  to both of the posts.  Did do the import, no help, and the title is still the same in the original location,  C:\Users(LimitedUserTitle)\AppData\Roaming\ et ceteras

TIA, CU L8R,  >> LkOnKbd << "Lone Wanderer"
Dell OptiPlex 960 64bit 4G-RAM O/S Win7 PRO SP1; Firefox64 v49.x/w, PM v1.7.x + Other

Offline tanstaafl

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1361
Re: PWM will NOT read the RDF file
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2016, 02:34:28 PM »
You didn't provide the full path...

Mine is at:

C:\Users\myusername\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\SaltedProfile.default\passwordmaker.rdf

The name (even the case is important I think, it should be all lower) is important.

The permissions should include 'full control' for your user.

Offline LkOnKbd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 417
  • "I am a deeply religious nonbeliever..."
Re: PWM will NOT read the RDF file
« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2016, 06:11:52 PM »
"tanstaafl,"Excise me, please?  I never give the exact full path as it is something that is personal and is standard for FF so it always remains the same (except for the special coded part unique for each user's access).  Is all lower case and is taken from a special folder created by Mozilla FF (saved to DeskTop) when not able to recover in the normal fashion, special resetting to first install and required to reinstall all addons and any special features for my access.  I think where you specify "Salted" is where that code is located.
Checked for my 'passwordmaker.rdf' file within my user path and it was NOT there, still the one without all of my codings so transferred it again, will check further later on as am involved in another project at the moment.  Will report any findings later.
Thank you and good to see you still with PWM,
TIA, CU L8R,  >> LkOnKbd << "Lone Wanderer"
Dell OptiPlex 960 64bit 4G-RAM O/S Win7 PRO SP1; Firefox64 v49.x/w, PM v1.7.x + Other

Offline LkOnKbd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 417
  • "I am a deeply religious nonbeliever..."
Re: PWM will NOT read the RDF file
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2016, 01:48:54 PM »
Did the import again and the file is being shown as '3kb' yet when I click on that file and open in my TXT editor ("Edit Pad Light v7.3.1 x64) is shown as the file I need which is 122kb.  My system is '64bit' including FireFox.
TIA, CU L8R,  >> LkOnKbd << "Lone Wanderer"
Dell OptiPlex 960 64bit 4G-RAM O/S Win7 PRO SP1; Firefox64 v49.x/w, PM v1.7.x + Other

Offline LkOnKbd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 417
  • "I am a deeply religious nonbeliever..."
Re: PWM will NOT read the RDF file
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2016, 02:48:50 PM »
Guess what?  Managed to get my original 'rdf' file back in operation AND did not use the 'Import' feature.  Just copy/paste.

Thanks anyway,
TIA, CU L8R,  >> LkOnKbd << "Lone Wanderer"
Dell OptiPlex 960 64bit 4G-RAM O/S Win7 PRO SP1; Firefox64 v49.x/w, PM v1.7.x + Other

PasswordMaker Forums

Re: PWM will NOT read the RDF file
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2016, 02:48:50 PM »